Extension of RZ bridging time in case of power failure from 7 minutes to 4 hours

How we were able to give our customer valuable bridging time in the event of power failures

Task

Our challenge

We were asked to analyze the data center infrastructure at one of our customers and to develop recommendations for extending the data center bridging time in the event of power failures from 7 minutes to 4 hours. Subsequently, the implementation was also to be carried out by us.

In detail

Our success story

Our customer (energy provider, 300 employees) was repeatedly struggling with long power outages due to deficiencies in the building technology. At the time, the emergency power supply could bridge a maximum of 7 minutes, which was clearly too short, since business-critical services of the company have to be provided 24├Ś7. Four hours of bridging time left time for emergency repairs or/ and relocation of critical services to an alternate location. After the analysis, we planned the implementation of a UPS in the IT infrastructure, as well as the restructuring of the building’s power supply. We also designed and implemented a supplier control system for building services requirements.

In the course of this, an emergency plan and a business continuity plan for the data center were also created and implemented. After successful testing, the UPS we implemented went into production.

In case of need, the emergency power supply can now bridge 4 hours, instead of 7 minutes.

About wescaleIT

wescaleIT AG is an IT full service provider specializing in the planning and implementation of demanding IT and technology projects. We focus on the wishes, needs and hardships of our customers, with an additional focus on optimizing their economic success.

The digitalization of global resources, in combination with our PaPCore┬ę system and our unique wealth of experience in the global IT environment, make us an unbeatable partner for your business.
This novel concept enables us to offer you the possibility to master the challenges of digital transformation in a transparent, scalable and high-margin way. Whether it’s employee leasing, ensuring delivery capability, a shortage of skilled workers or demographic change – we have solutions.

More success stories

Process management and optimization in infrastructure management

How we were able to sustainably reduce orders in hardware management

zum Case

Performance analysis of the entire SAP database infrastructure

How we could reduce the resource requirements of databases with increased performance

zum Case

Design and development of a SAP workflow application

How we developed a SAP workflow application

zum Case

Erweiterung der RZ Überbrückungszeit bei Stromausfall von 7 Minuten auf 4 Stunden

Wie wir unserem Kunden wertvolle Überbrückungszeit bei Stromausfällen schenken konnten

Aufgabenstellung

Unsere Herausforderung

Wir wurden gebeten bei einem unserer Kunden die Rechenzentrumsinfrastruktur zu analysieren und Handlungsempfehlungen zur Erweiterung der RZ Überbrückungszeit bei Stromausfällen von 7 Minuten auf 4 Stunden zu entwickeln. Im Anschluss sollte die Implementierung ebenfalls durch uns durchgeführt werden.

Im Detail

Unsere Erfolgsstory

Unser Kunde (Energieversorger, 300 Mitarbeiter)  kämpfte aufgrund von Mängeln in der Gebäudetechnik immer wieder mit langen Stromausfällen. Die Notstromversorgung  konnte zum damaligen Zeitpunkt maximal 7 Minuten überbrücken, was deutlich zu kurz gewesen ist, da Business-Kritische Services des Unternehmens 24×7 geleistet werden müssen. Vier Stunden Überbrückungszeit ließen Zeit für Notreparaturen oder/ und eine Verlagerung der kritischen Services an einen Ausweichstandort. Nach der Analyse planten wir die Implementierung einer USV in die IT Infrastruktur, sowie die Restrukturierung der Energieversorgung des Gebäudes. Ebenso wurde eine Lieferantensteuerung für gebäudetechnische Anforderungen von uns entworfen und implementiert.

Im Zuge dessen wurde ebenfalls ein Notfall-Plan, sowie ein Business Continuity Plan für das Rechenzentrum erstellt und eingeführt. Nach dem erfolgreichen Testing ging die von uns implementierte USV in die Produktion über.

Im Bedarfsfall kann die Notstromversorgung nun 4 Stunden, statt 7 Minuten überbrücken.

Über wescaleIT

Die wescaleIT AG ist ein IT-Full Service Provider, der sich auf die Planung und Umsetzung anspruchsvoller IT- und Technologievorhaben spezialisiert hat. Wir konzentrieren uns auf die Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und Nöte unserer Kunden und haben dabei zusätzlich die Optimierung ihres wirtschaftlichen Erfolgs im Fokus.

Die Digitalisierung von globalen Ressourcen, in Kombination mit unserem PaPCore-System und unserem einmaligen Erfahrungsschatz im globalen IT-Umfeld, machen uns zu einem unschlagbaren Partner für ihr Business.
Dieses neuartige Konzept befähigt uns, Ihnen die Möglichkeit zu bieten transparent, skalierbar und margenträchtig die Herausforderungen der digitalen Transformation zu meistern. Egal ob Arbeitnehmerüberlassung, Gewährleistung der Lieferfähigkeit, Fachkräftemangel oder demographischer Wandel – wir haben Lösungen.

Weitere Erfolgsstorys

SAP HANA Migrations- und Cloudanalyse

Wie wir eine umfangreiche Migrations- und Cloudanalyse durchgeführt haben

zum Case

Optimierungen im produzierenden Industriebereich

Wie wir Services redesigned-, Verträge angepasst- und das Service Management neu ausgerichtet haben

zum Case

HANA Migrationen

Wie wir Migrationskosten um bis zu 60% gesenkt haben

zum Case