Operation of a group-wide backup infrastructure

How we analyzed an IT department and subdivided it according to ITIL

Task

Our challenge

Within a PaPCore┬ę service, tasks from daily operations were to be taken over in order to relieve the internal IT department and reduce costs in the medium term.

In detail

Our success story

Our customer (IT service provider, 900 employees) commissioned wescaleIT to provide a service to relieve the internal IT department and reduce IT costs. For this purpose, the activities of the IT department were analyzed and divided into 1st, 2nd and 3rd level according to ITIL. From then on, wescaleIT took over the monitoring of all backups in daily operations, error detection, diagnosis and correction of these, restart in the event of terminations, escalations in the event of critical failures, coordination of repair measures, monitoring and analysis of backup capacities, as well as monitoring backup performance. After some time, the service was extended to include the implementation of optimization and expansion measures and regular presentations of the health check of the infrastructure and failure hotspots. These routine activities relieve our customer, as well as the employees of the IT department immensely. In addition, the performance was increased through standardized procedures and the backlog, which had accumulated over the years, was worked off. Compared to internal employees, we were quoted a saving of 25%. Compared to external staff, we were able to achieve a savings of 50% through our PaPCore┬ę service.

About wescaleIT

wescaleIT AG is an IT full service provider specializing in the planning and implementation of demanding IT and technology projects. We focus on the wishes, needs and hardships of our customers, with an additional focus on optimizing their economic success.

The digitalization of global resources, in combination with our PaPCore┬ę system and our unique wealth of experience in the global IT environment, make us an unbeatable partner for your business.
This novel concept enables us to offer you the possibility to master the challenges of digital transformation in a transparent, scalable and high-margin way. Whether it’s employee leasing, ensuring delivery capability, a shortage of skilled workers or demographic change – we have solutions.

More success stories

Process management and optimization in infrastructure management

How we were able to sustainably reduce orders in hardware management

zum Case

Performance analysis of the entire SAP database infrastructure

How we could reduce the resource requirements of databases with increased performance

zum Case

Design and development of a SAP workflow application

How we developed a SAP workflow application

zum Case

Betrieb einer konzernweiten Backup-Infrastruktur

Wie wir eine IT-Abteilung analysiert- und nach ITIL unterteilt haben

Aufgabenstellung

Unsere Herausforderung

Innerhalb eines PaPCore-Services sollten Aufgaben aus dem t√§glichen Betrieb √ľber-nommen werden, um Entlastung der internen IT-Abteilung zu erzielen und mittelfris-tig die Kosten zu senken.

Im Detail

Unsere Erfolgsstory

Unser Kunde (IT Service Provider, 900 MA) beauftragte bei der wescaleIT einen Service zur Entlastung der internen IT, sowie der Kostensenkung der IT-Kosten. Hierzu wurden die T√§tigkeiten der IT-Abteilung analysiert und nach ITIL in 1st, 2nd und 3rd Level unterteilt. wescaleIT √ľbernahm fortan die √úberwachung aller Sicherungen im t√§glichen Betrieb, die Fehlererkennung, -diagnose und -behebung dieser, den Wiederanlauf im Falle von Abbr√ľchen, Eskalationen bei kritischen Ausf√§llen, Koordination von Reparaturma√ünahmen, die √úberwachung und Analyse der Backup-Kapazit√§ten, sowie die √úberwachung der Backup-Performance. Nach einiger Zeit wurde der Service erweitert um die Durchf√ľhrung von Optimierungs- und Erweiterungsma√ünahmen und regelm√§√üigen Pr√§sentationen des Health-Checks der Infrastruktur und der Fehlerschwerpunkte. Diese Routinet√§tigkeiten entlasten unseren Kunden, sowie die Mitarbeiter der IT-Abteilung ungemein. Zudem wurde durch standardisiertes Vorgehen die Performance gesteigert und der √ľber Jahre angesammelte Backlog abgearbeitet. Im Vergleich zu internen Mitarbeitern wurde uns eine Ersparnis von 25% genannt. Im Vergleich zu externen konnten wir eine Ersparnis von 50% durch unseren PaPCore-Service erzielen.

√úber wescaleIT

Die wescaleIT AG ist ein IT-Full Service Provider, der sich auf die Planung und Umsetzung anspruchsvoller IT- und Technologievorhaben spezialisiert hat. Wir konzentrieren uns auf die W√ľnsche, Bed√ľrfnisse und N√∂te unserer Kunden und haben dabei zus√§tzlich die Optimierung ihres wirtschaftlichen Erfolgs im Fokus.

Die Digitalisierung von globalen Ressourcen, in Kombination mit unserem PaPCore-System und unserem einmaligen Erfahrungsschatz im globalen IT-Umfeld, machen uns zu einem unschlagbaren Partner f√ľr ihr Business.
Dieses neuartige Konzept bef√§higt uns, Ihnen die M√∂glichkeit zu bieten transparent, skalierbar und margentr√§chtig die Herausforderungen der digitalen Transformation zu meistern. Egal ob Arbeitnehmer√ľberlassung, Gew√§hrleistung der Lieferf√§higkeit, Fachkr√§ftemangel oder demographischer Wandel – wir haben L√∂sungen.

Weitere Erfolgsstorys

SAP HANA Migrations- und Cloudanalyse

Wie wir eine umfangreiche Migrations- und Cloudanalyse durchgef√ľhrt haben

zum Case

Entwicklung einer Mobile Application in SAP Fiori

Wie wir ein technisches Anforderungsdokument erstellt haben

zum Case

Digitalisierung von HR-Business Prozessen in Form einer Mitarbeiter-App

Wie wir HR und Finance Prozesse radikal neu strukturiert haben

zum Case